Cheap Date: Copycat Zoes Kitchen Marinated Slaw

Summer time is here and it’s time for picnics, barbecues, and other occasions that center around eating. One of America’s favorite potluck side dishes is classic cole slaw, but the traditional dish is made with kryptonite mayonnaise (obviously, I’m not a fan).

I was never a fan of cole slaw growing up (probably due to the copious amounts of mayo), but when I worked at Zoes Kitchen years ago, I was introduced to the vinegar-based Greek variation. I fell in love. There is something delightful about the combination of the tangy, smoky, herby flavors that make up this concoction. I couldn’t get enough of it while I was working at Zoes – I would take home the extra pints and quarts at the end of the day to snack on later at home. My coworkers probably thought I was a constipated, cabbage-obsessed weirdo. I didn’t care.

I moved on from my stint at Zoes and have honestly not IMG_20150628_170518visited a location since. Nothing against the establishment, I am just very frugal and avoid dining out or spending money in general. I got a sharp craving for my coveted marinated slaw a few days ago, but still could not bring myself to fork over the cash for a one-serving bowl of cabbage. I decided to try making it at home using my insider recipe knowledge, hesitant that I would not be able to achieve the right texture and flavors. But I NAILED it!

Here’s how I did it:

  • 1 small head of cabbage, thinly shredded
  • 5 stalks green onions, finely chopped
  • 8oz crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 3/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 packet Greek salad dressing seasoning (you can use an Italian dressing seasoning packet if you can’t find the Greek version)
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  1. Combine shredded cabbage, green onions, and feta cheese in a large bowl. Set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients to make the marinade.
  3. While stirring the marinade, slowly pour over the cabbage mixture. Toss everything together until well combined.
  4. Refrigerate for a few hours to get the full marinated effect. The slaw can also be served immediately if you can’t wait.

This marinated slaw should be kept covered and refrigerated for 3-4 days only. The recipe makes about 6 servings. Enjoy!

Cheap Date: Copycat Zoes Kitchen Marinated Slaw

Leave a Reply

