The back story

Not even 2 years ago, I was engaged to be married to someone I thought was right for me. There was my mistake. The decision was made by me and my (lack of) judgment. I have always found myself drawn to “broken” people – hurting, lost, damaged, in need of love or some sort of rescue that I selfishly thought I could provide. It made me feel needed and fulfilled a gave me a sense of dependence from the other person. Under those standards, I had found my Prince Charming. It wasn’t until 2 weeks before the wedding that God slapped me in the face, turned my attention back to Him, and told me I was about to go through with something that would ultimately make me unhappy and unfulfilled. I listened and called off the wedding. It was the best decision of my life.

Needless to say, I was not at all thinking about getting into a new relationship, and definitely not getting married anytime in the near future. But God is funny like that. Your ideas may not always be His, and His may not always be yours.

My manager at the time had become a very close friend during our working relationship, but was never someone I looked at with eager eyes. He was married (at the time), and I was engaged. Plus, he was my MANAGER. Shortly after I called off the wedding, he told me he was in the end process of a divorce, trying to find a way to connect with me during that hard time. We talked like best friends, helping each other through the similar difficulties of what we were both going through. It was very comforting, but at the same time, I was wary of getting too close and ending up in a rebound relationship.

A few months later, I got a job promotion that took me out of that work location, so I wasn’t seeing my newfound close friend on a daily basis anymore. We started hanging out after work hours, and found that we had much more in common than we first thought. Since most of our conversations centered around our recently dissolved relationships, we were very open with each other as to what happened, what went wrong, our principles and values, and what we truly wanted out of our next relationships. We soon recognized we were describing each other, but still leaned on our hesitations. Neither of us wanted anything to do with a meaningless rebound, we didn’t want to date, and we certainly weren’t looking for serious, long-term relationships. But, after praying (a lot) and talking about the situation, we decided to give it a go.

When we finally broke that “just friends” barrier, J and I instantly felt the difference between a wrong, selfishly-guided relationship and one lead by God, His timing, and His plan, as odd as we thought it was. We both grew closer to Him as we connected more with each other, and knew all the hurt was worth it. Had anything played out any differently for either of us, we would not have happened. I am so thankful for the major life plot twist God threw at me.

J and I dated for only a few months before he met my parents. They immediately hit it off, especially J and my dad – which is a HUGE deal. I had never seen my dad so happy. He was hugging J. And laughing. And planning golf outings. I had no idea what was going on.

After about 6 months. J proposed after an awesome weekend getaway to Chattanooga. Of course I said yes. This was the man of my dreams! Lucky for me, I was well-versed in wedding planning at this point, and we agreed on what we wanted for our ceremony. We had a simple, family-only wedding on the side of a mountain on a late afternoon in October. It was perfect, beautiful, and the happiest day of my life.

I thank God everyday for my wonderful husband, loving in-laws, supportive family, and my own strength to follow God’s will. I’m Little Mrs Currie and I’m never looking back!

The back story

Leave a Reply

